List of “From the Bean” Chocolate Makers

You may have noticed by now that we at Root Chocolate are not the only ones making chocolate “from the bean,” as Clay Gordon likes to call it. In fact, we are among many small- and micro-batch makers dedicated to the craft (part art, part science) of making chocolate.

I wanted to do a brief post about the many other bean-to-bar companies out there to pass along the advice we’ve been given time and again: eat more chocolate. Refine your palate. Taste all those other delicious bars in order to understand what you really like. First, please note the many sites that review chocolate bars and share their wealth of tasting knowledge with the world:

And now, without further ado, I give you the list of all the “from the bar” chocolate makers I’m aware of. Please feel free to comment to add or correct anything on this list, so I can build out this list even more thoroughly!

Name Location Website
A. Morin France http://www.chocolaterie-morin.com/
Acalli Chocolate New Orleans, LA http://www.acallichocolate.com/
Adi Chocolate Fiji http://www.chocolatefiji.com/
Agapey Chocolate Barbados http://www.agapey.com/
Akesson’s Sweden http://www.akessons-organic.com/en/akessons/
Alain Ducasse France http://www.alain-ducasse.com/en/category/la-manufacture-de-chocolat
Amadei New York, NY http://amedeistore.com/pages/about-us
Amano Chocolate Orem, UT www.amanochocolate.com
Ambrosia Pastry Canada http://ambrosiapastry.com/
Amma Chocolate Brazil http://www.ammachocolate.com.br/
Anahata Cacao New Jersey http://www.anahatacacao.com/
Antidote Chocolate Brooklyn, NY www.antidotechoco.com
Ara Chocolate France http://www.arachocolat.com/
Arete Milpitas, CA http://www.aretefinechocolate.com/
Askinosie Springfield, MO www.askinosie.com
Bahen & Co Australia http://www.bahenchocolate.com/
Bar Au Chocolat Manhattan Beach, CA http://www.barauchocolat.com/
Baravelli’s Welsh Chocolate Ireland http://www.baravellis.com/
Beanpod Chocolate Canada http://www.beanpod.ca/
Benoit Nihant Chocolate Belgium http://www.benoitnihant.be/
Bernachon France http://www.bernachon.com/fr/
Beussent-Lachelle France http://choco-france.com/fr/
Bisou Chocolate Berkeley, CA http://smallbatchchocolate.com/
Bittersweet Chocolate Cafe Oakland, CA www.bittersweetcafe.com
Black Mountain Chocolate Black Mountain, NC www.blackmountainchocolate.com
Blue Bandana Vermont http://www.lakechamplainchocolates.com/bars-hot-chocolate/blue-bandana-chocolate
Bonnat France http://www.bonnat-chocolatier.com/
Bright Chocolate Australia http://www.brightchocolate.com.au/
Burnt Fork Bend Chocolate Stevensville, MT http://www.burntforkbend.com/
Cacao Atlanta Chocolate Co. Atlanta, GA www.cacaoatlanta.com
Cacao Prieto Brooklyn http://www.cacaoprieto.com/
Cacaosuyo Peru https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cacaosuyo/393139707478225
Cao Artisan Chocolates Lynchburg, VA http://www.caoartisanchocolates.com/
Captain Pembleton New Zealand http://www.captpembleton.co.nz/
Caribeans Chocolate Costa Rica http://www.caribeanschocolate.com/
Castronovo Florida www.castronovochocolate.com
Cello Chocolate Nevada City, CA www.cellochocolate.com
Charley’s Chocolate Factory Australia http://www.charleys.com.au/
Charm School Chocolate Baltimore, MD
Chequessett Chocolate Cape Cod, MA http://www.chequessettchocolate.com/
Chocolarder England http://www.chocolarder.com/
Chocolat Ferrier France http://www.chocolat-ferrier.fr/
Chocolate Alchemy Eugene, OR www.chocolatealchemy.com
Chocolate Naive Lithuania http://chocolatenaive.com/
Chocolate Sandander Colombia http://www.chocolatesantander.com/
Chocolatemakers Netherlands http://chocolatemakers.nl/
Chocolates El Rey Venezuela http://www.chocolates-elrey.com/
ChocoSol Traders Canada http://chocosoltraders.com/
ChocoVic Spain http://www.chocovic.es//
ChocoVivo Los Angeles, CA https://chocovivo.com/
Choklat Canada https://www.sochoklat.com/
Cicada Artisan Chocolate Australia http://www.cicadachocolate.com/
Cocanu Portland, OR http://coca.nu/
CocoaTown LLC Roswell, GA www.cocoatown.com
Cotton Tree Chocolate Belize http://www.cottontreechocolate.com/
Cravve Chocolate and Tea Australia http://www.beanandleaf.com.au/
Csokolade Keszites Hungary http://www.szantotibor.com/en
Daintree Estates Australia http://www.daintreeestates.com/
Dandelion Chocolate San Francisco, CA http://www.dandelionchocolate.com/classes/#anchor
Danta Chocolate Guatemala http://www.dantachocolate.com/Eng/Home.html
Davis Chocolate Mishawaka, IN http://www.davischocolate.com/
Dead Dog Chocolate Denver, CO www.deaddogchocolate.com
DeVries Chocolate Denver, CO www.devrieschocolate.com
Dick Taylor Arcata, CA http://www.dicktaylorchocolate.com/
Doble & Bignall United Kingdom http://www.dobleandbignall.co.uk/
Domori Italy http://www.domori.com/
Duffy’s Chocolate England http://www.duffyschocolate.co.uk/
Dulcinea Pennsylvania http://www.dulcineacraftchocolate.com/
DV Chocolate South Africa http://www.dvchocolate.com/
Eastvan Roasters Canada http://eastvanroasters.com/
El Ceibo Bolivia http://www.elceibo.org/ceibo/en/index.php
Emily’s Chocolate Japan http://emilys-chocolate.com/pg32.html
Erithaj Chocolate France http://www.erithaj.com/
Escazu Raleigh, NC www.escazuchocolates.com
Ethereal Confections Woodstock, IL www.etherealconfections.com/bean-to-bar
Finca Chocolate Logan, OH http://www.fincachocolate.com/
Fine and Raw Chocolate South Africa http://fineandraw.com/
Firefly Chocolate Sebastopol, CA http://fireflychocolate.com/
Forever Cacao United Kingdom http://www.forevercacao.co.uk/
Franceschi Chocolate Venezuela http://www.franceschichocolate.com/
Frederic Blondeel Belgium http://www.frederic-blondeel.com/
French Broad Chocolates Asheville, NC www.frenchbroadchocolates.com
Fresco Chocolate Lynden, WA www.frescochocolate.com
Friis Holm Denmark http://www.friis-holm.dk/en/
Frolic Chocolate Charlottesville, VA http://frolicchocolate.com
Fruition New York www.tastefruition.com
Gabriel Chocolate Australia http://www.gabrielchocolate.com.au/
Gaillot Chocolate Bulgaria http://gaillot-chocolate-en.blogspot.be/
Garden Island Chocolate/ Nanea Chocolate Kauaii, HI www.gardenislandchocolate.com
Guido Castagna Italy http://www.guidocastagna.it/index.php/en/
Guittard Burlingame, CA http://www.guittard.com/
Habitual Chocolate Roasters Canada http://www.habitualchocolate.com/index.html
Hoja Verde Ecuador http://www.hojaverdegourmet.com/
Holy Cacao Israel http://holycacao.co.il/
Hotel Chocolat England http://www.hotelchocolat.com/uk/
Idilio Origins Switzerland http://www.idilio.ch/idilio-origins.html
Indi Chocolate Seattle, WA http://indichocolate.com
IQ Chocolate Scotland http://www.iqchoc.com/
ISIDRO Chocolate Austin, TX www.isidrochocolate.com
It’s Chocolate! Winston-Salem, NC www.itschocolatews.com
IXCACAO Maya Belizean Chocolate Belize http://www.ixcacaomayabelizeanchocolate.com/
Jacques Torres Chocolate New York, NY www.mrchocolate.com
Jordi’s Chocolate Czech Republic http://www.jordis.cz/
Kakaw Belizean Chocolate Belize http://www.belizechocolatecompany.com/
Kallari Ecuador http://www.kallari.com/
KISKADEE Chocolates Austin, TX www.kiskadeechocolates.com
KYYA Springdale, AR http://www.kyyachocolate.com/
Laia Chocolaterie France http://www.laia.fr/
Letterpress Chocolate Los Angeles, CA www.letterpresschocolate.com
Levy Chocolate Finland http://levychocolate.com/
Lillie Belle Farms Central Point, OR www.lilliebellefarms.com
Lonohana Hawaiian Estate Chocolate Honolulu, HI www.lonohana.com
Lulu’s Chocolate Sedona, AZ www.luluschocolate.com
Madecasse Madagascar http://www.madecasse.com/
Madre Chocolate Honolulu, HI www.madrechocolate.com
Magdalena’s Cacao Bean Chocolates Philippines https://www.facebook.com/BeanToBarDarkChocolates
Mahogany Chocolate Lubbock, TX www.mahoganychocolate.com
Malagos Chocolates Philippines http://www.thegiftfarm.ph/
Malie Kai Chocolates Hawaii http://www.maliekai.com/
Mana Chocolate Portland, OR www.manachocolate.com
Manoa Chocolate Kailua, HI www.manoachocolate.com
Manufaktura Czekolady Poland http://www.manufakturaczekolady.pl/
Marigold’s Finest Canada http://marigoldsfinest.com/
Marou Vietnam http://marouchocolate.com/
Marsatta Redondo Beach, CA http://www.marsatta.com/best-chocolate.html#.VCIjivldXQo
Marsatta Fancy Chocolates Redondo Beach, CA http://www.marsatta.com/
Mast Brothers Brooklyn, NY http://mastbrothers.com/
Maverick Chocolate Co. Cincinati, OH www.maverickchocolate.com
Mayta Ecuador http://www.maytachocolate.com/
Meadowlands Chocolate Company Meadowlands, MN www.meadowlandschocolate.com
Menakao Madagascar http://www.menakao.com/
Meridian Cacao Portland, OR www.meridiancacao.com
Metiisto Artisan Chocolate Sweden https://www.facebook.com/pages/Metiisto-artisan-chocolate/572826362743339
Michael Recchiuti San Francisco, CA http://www.recchiuti.com/index.html
Michel Cluizel France http://www.cluizel.us/
Middlebury Chocolate Middlebury, VT http://middleburychocolates.com/
Millcreek Cacao Roasters Salt Lake City, UT www.millcreekcacao.com
Mindo Chocolate Makers Dexter, MI http://mindochocolate.com
Molucca Fresno, CA http://moluccachocolate.com/
Monsieur Truffle Australia http://monsieurtruffechocolate.com/
Mucho Mas Chocolate Pennsylvania http://www.muchomaschocolate.com/
Nahua Chocolate Costa Rica http://www.nahuachocolate.com/
Nathan Miller Chocolate Pennsylvania http://nathanmiller.myshopify.com/
Nibble Chocolates San Diego, CA http://www.nibblechocolates.com/home/
Nick’s Chocolate Australia http://nickschocolate.com.au/
Night Owl Chocolate Greenville, SC http://nightowlchocolate.com/
Nuance Chocolate Fort Collins, CO http://nuancechocolate.com/
Oialla Denmark http://oialla.com/
Olive and Sinclair Nashville, TN www.oliveandsinclair.com
Olivia Chocolat Canada http://oliviachocolatiers.com/
Omnom Chocolate Iceland http://www.omnomchocolate.com/
Organic Fair Canada http://www.organicfair.com/
Original Beans Netherlands http://originalbeans.com/
Otago Chocolate Company (Ocho) New Zealand http://ocho.co.nz/about-ocho/
Pacari Chocolate Ecuador http://pacarichocolate.com/
Palette De Bine Canada http://www.palettedebine.com/
Parliament Chocolate Redlands, CA www.parliamentchocolate.com
Patric Columbia, MO http://patric-chocolate.com/
Patrice Chapon France http://chocolat-chapon.com/
Paul A. Young England http://www.paulayoung.co.uk/
Pierre Marcolini France http://www.marcolini.be/#/en
Pinella’s Chocolate Company Florida http://pinellaschoco.com/
Pipiltin Chocolate Indonesia http://www.pipiltincocoa.com/mainsite
Pitch Dark Chocolate Portland, OR http://www.pitchdarkchocolate.com/
Potomac Woodbridge, VA www.potomacchocolate.com
Pralus France http://www.chocolats-pralus.com/en
Pump Street Bakery England http://www.pumpstreetbakery.com/
Raaka Chocolate Brooklyn, NY www.raakachocolate.com
Rain Republic Chocolate Guatemala https://www.facebook.com/rainrepublic
Raw Cocoa Poland http://rawcocoa.pl/index.php/pl/
Republica de Cacao Ecuador http://www.republicadelcacao.com/
Ritual Chocolate Denver, CO http://www.ritualchocolate.com
Rogue Massachussets http://www.roguechocolatier.com/
Rozsavolgyi Csokolade Hungary http://www.rozsavolgyi.com/en/index.php
Sacred Chocolate Novato, CA www.sacredchocolate.com
Salgado Chocolates Argentina https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.234055730003443.57009.190985724310444&type=1
Sandpoint Chocolate Bear Sandpoint, ID www.sandpointchocolate.com
Santosha Chocolate Asheville, NC www.santoshachocolate.com
Shark Mountain Chocolate Charlottesville, VA http://sharkmountaincoffee.com/htdocs/shark2/home/chocolate/
Sibu Sura Chocolates Myersville, MD www.sibusura.com
Sirene Artisan Chocolate Canada http://sirenechocolate.com/#
Sjölinds Chocolate House Mount Horeb, WI www.sjolinds.com
Solkiki Chocolate England https://www.facebook.com/pages/Solkiki/723232394365556?fref=ts
Solstice Chocolate Salt Lake City, Utah http://www.solsticechocolate.com/
SOMA Chocolate Canada http://www.somachocolate.com/
Somerville Chocolate Somerville, MA http://www.somervillechocolate.com/
SPAGnVOLA Gaithersburg, MD http://www.spagnvola.com/
Spencer Cacao Australia http://spencercocoa.com.au/
Spirited Artisan Chocolate Bisbee, AZ http://www.spiritedchocolate.com/
SRSLY Chocolate Austin, TX www.srslychocolate.com
Stone Grindz Arizona http://www.stonegrindz.com/
Sublime Chocolate Dallas, TX www.sublimechocolate.com
Sun Eaters Organics Trinidad and Tobago https://www.facebook.com/suneatersorganics
Tabal Milwaukee, MN http://tabalchocolate.com
Talamanca Chocolates Costa Rica https://www.facebook.com/TalamancaChocolates?fref=photo
Taza Massachussets www.tazachocolate.com
Tejas Chocolate Houston, TX www.tejaschocolate.com
Terroir Chocolate Fergus Falls, MN http://tasteofplacechocolate.com/
The Chocolate Conspiracy Salt Lake City, UT www.eatchocolateconspiracy.com
The Chocolate Tree Scotland http://www.choctree.co.uk/
The Fudge Shoppe Flemington, NJ http://www.thefudgeshoppe.com/
The Grenada Chocolate Company Grenada http://www.grenadachocolate.com/
The Oakland Chocolate Company Oakland, CA www.theoaklandchocolateco.com
The Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory Kailua-Kona, HI www.ohcf.us
Theo and Philo Philippines http://theoandphilo.com/
Theo Chocolate Seattle, WA www.theochocolate.com
Treehouse Chocolate Portland, OR http://treehousechocolate.com/
Twenty-four blackbirds Santa Barbara, CA www.24blackbirdschocolate.com
Valhrona Brooklyn, NY http://www.valrhona-chocolate.com/shop/index.php
Vicuña Chocolate Peterborough, NH http://www.vicunachocolate.com/
Videri Chocolate North Carolina https://viderichocolatefactory.com/
Vintage Plantations New Jersey https://www.vintageplantations.com/home/
Wellington Chocolate New Zealand http://www.wcf.co.nz/
White Rabbit Chocolate New Zealand http://www.whiterabbitcacao.co.nz/index.html
Wild Sweets Canada http://www.dcduby.com/
Wilkie’s Organic Chocolate Ireland http://www.wilkieschocolate.ie/
Willie’s Cacao England http://williescacao.com/fine-chocolate/home/
Woodblock Chocolate Portland, OR www.woodblockchocolate.com
Zokoko Australia https://www.zokoko.com/
Zotter Austria http://www.zotter.at/de/startseite.html
Advertisements

One thought on “List of “From the Bean” Chocolate Makers

  1. Pingback: Happy Saturday! | Root Chocolate

Let us know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s